Sometimes a Stapler Can Be a Hammer… but it shouldn’t be

I’m reading this book, Adulting: How to become a grown-up in 468 easy(wish) steps. I love it because (a) it’s kind of funny the things that we overlook when we were in our parents’ houses and (b) it’s full of useful information.

One of the tips was to buy a toolkit with at least 4 tools, including a hammer, screwdriver, wrench, tape measure and drill. What’s really funny? I made it through 4 years of living on my own without any of those.

For Christmas one year, my parents bought me this electric fireplace that I love to this day. And of course, you needed tools to put it together. So when my uncle delivered the really heavy box to my apartment to help put it together… He asked where’s your toolkit? To which I replied, uhm…. He had to use the toolkit he had back down the 3 flights of stairs in his truck. How can you have your own apartment and not have a toolkit?

When asked how I hung up my pictures, I replied command strips and a stapler. Yes, I used a heavy duty stapler to hammer nails into the walls of my college apartment. I thought he was going to kill me. But it worked at the time and I wasn’t exactly hanging art.

Don’t get me wrong. I know how to use tools. I’m actually pretty handy… I just never needed my own toolkit because I would steal my dad’s. Heck, me and mom used his tools more than he did most of the time.

So I guess my point is, you should buy a tool kit and know how to use it. Because you don’t want to miss out on a super cool electric fireplace because you can’t put it together.

 

I now have a tool kit (and even a drill)! But Joel doesn’t like me putting holes in the walls so I’m still where I started with command strips but at least I have a toolkit just in case.

Leave a Reply

