Sweet Home… Alabama.

New York has given me a run for my money on my last full day here. Between the bottoms of my feet being literally bruised to my debit card no longer working, I’d say Alabama is surely calling my name.

It’s been such a blessing to live out a dream and to be able to explore completely alone. For the first time, I took off to a place that I didn’t know without a single person to fall back on. I knew of people in the city, but there was no family, no close friends, and no one I was truly comfortable calling at 1 a.m. when something was wrong. It was me and the streets of New York.

So me and my Kate Spade personality hit the streets and discovered a lot. But I think I discovered more about myself than I did about this city. I know the streets. I can get pretty much anywhere without a map (with the exception of below Houston street because those are a bit tricky). I can even navigate Brooklyn pretty easily, and the subway is just another car.

But I learned a lot about myself. I truly “dated myself” for an entire summer. When I wanted Italian, I had Italian. When I wanted to see a movie, I went to the movies. Pedicures, food, wine, dinner, more food, dessert, shows, walks, runs, and even just laying in the park. I did what I wanted to without worrying about anyone else. It wasn’t selfish… it was truly a learning experience!

I learned my way through my fellowship, finding out all the right and wrong ways to do everything. Delivering mailers still proved to be the most difficult task because 7 a.m. on a Thursday morning and a giant box is difficult to stomp around NYC.

As much as I missed my friends and family, I didn’t yearn to see them. I set out to spend 3 months mostly by myself, and that’s what I did. I didn’t worry about making friends, although I did come out with some great ones. I didn’t set out to meet anyone famous, although I did see Usher and Kathie Lee Gifford and Penn and Teller. I didn’t set out to do so many things, but along the way, I found them. I am grateful for those that visited, mostly because I really missed human contact… especially hugs. 

But on my last full day despite all the chaos that ensued, I visited the 9/11 memorial fountains again at sunset. I was reminded once again how blessed I am to be alive and to be free. How blessed I am to be able to spend a summer wherever I please. How blessed I am to live in a country where I get to choose a career I love. How blessed I am to live somewhere I get to change my dreams, find my dreams and live my dreams. How blessed I am to have people supporting my every step, no matter how sketchy, unclear or hazardous that road may be. And how blessed I am to have so many people waiting on my return.

It’s a bittersweet goodbye. It’s like dark chocolate with sea salt really. Just enough bitter bite to cancel out the sweetness, with a surprise a salt to top it all off. (I love dark chocolate with sea salt… hint, hint). Ultimately, this summer has been everything and then some. And I can’t wait to share all I’ve learned. But first, I need to find my way back home where I will hopefully let my feet rest a bit before hitting the books for one more year!

Thanks for reading and for following my journey in the city. Who knows where I’m heading off to next!

One thought on “Sweet Home… Alabama.

  1. Georgia says:

    This is great! I am so glad you had your alone time and got to know yourself. It’s honestly my favorite thing to do. It was a pleasure meeting and working with you this summer. xo

Leave a Reply

