Internships, Timing and the Big City!

Tomorrow is moving day. Yes, that’s right. This southern girl has her belongings (included my Keurig) packed into 4 suitcases that will be heading to New York City tomorrow morning. Wow. It’s a dream coming true for me. Living in the city I fell in love with several summers ago. But, before I can start telling you about this incredible journey I’m about to embark on, I think it’s best to start with how I got there. No, I’m not about to tell you my resume. I’m about to tell you the journey of internship applications and interviews… and more so about perfect timing. Because trust me, everything is all about timing. 

Courtesy of Josh Liba (Flickr)

Courtesy of Josh Liba (Flickr)

Internship Season:

82 Applications.

82 Cover letters.

82 Resumes.

26 Interviews

17 companies.

1 Offer.

Wednesday, April 15, 2015 at 2:20 p.m. I got the call. I was in class, and I couldn’t focus on anything. They had emailed me saying I’d get a call any minute. I was sick at my stomach. My phone rang, and I literally ran out of class. I got the internship at the company that started my journey in public relations… and I got it at their headquarter location —  New York City. I cried. I laughed. I smiled so hard my head hurt.

Multiple times I wanted to give up. I wanted to say I had already had an internship last year. That I didn’t really necessarily need one. But I didn’t. I stuck to it. And I prayed. The week I received my offer I was MIA from everything except my classes. I didn’t sleep in past 5 a.m., and was never in bed before 1 a.m. After I received my offer, I told my mom, my advisor, my friends that were located in our office (AKA The Tank) and my grandfather. Then, I went home and slept until dinner time.

I don’t know about you, but that was the first time I ever really pleaded with God. I prayed to the point that I may be able to somewhat grasp the idea of how hard Jesus prayed before He was crucified. But I know I am nowhere close. Note: I am not saying my prayer for an internship is anywhere near the same realm as praying not to die for the entire world’s sins. At all. I literally pleaded and cried in prayer.  I’m not sure I’ve ever wanted a prayer to be answered that bad.

I was frustrated. I was mad. I was upset. I was tired. I had done everything right, but everything was going wrong. I had applied to 82 locations, and I had not received a single offer. I almost started applying again. But it didn’t feel right. You can ask my friends. I was a zombie that week. I didn’t want to talk to anyone. And if I did, I was close to tears. How could all of my hard work not result in an internship at all?

But, things worked out exactly how they were supposed to and when they were supposed to. I didn’t get any of those other internships because I would have had to accept the internship before I had my last interview for NYC. I had prayed that if I was supposed to get this one that I wouldn’t get the others. That prayer was answered, but that was harder to live with than I thought it would be. A lot of things had to fall perfectly in place for this internship, and they did. I hadn’t accepted any other internships (which would have meant I would have had to turn down my dream internship— imagine that heartbreaker). I had people willing to speak on my behalf of what ever I do know about my industry. My parents were willing to move me to NYC (and pay for me to live there!) for the summer. My schedule fell perfectly to where I would get back exactly 5 days before classes started. My grandfather allowed me to move in with him for my last year so I didn’t have to worry about moving into an apartment when I got back (and saved a good amount of cha-ching there, too).  I have no question about how everything fell perfectly into place. I’m just so thankful for the opportunity to live out a dream so early in my career. So, see ya Alabama! I’m heading to the City!

Side Note: For the next two and a half months, this blog will cover my adventures in the city, the entertaining family vacation that will start it off tomorrow (Oh yes, Ray-man is heading to the city for the first time…), the lessons learned, and any misconceptions about living in NYC. I’m hoping to post once a week, but I only have 2.5 months, and I’ll be working full time so some lessons will be put on the back-burner until August. Thanks for reading! 

P.S. Good luck to all my friends on their upcoming first days! I can’t wait to hear about your adventures as well! 

One thought on “Internships, Timing and the Big City!

Leave a Reply

